[BLOG POST] Home After a Stroke: It Isn’t Failure – It’s Rehearsal

Quotes like “If you’re not prepared to be wrong, you’ll never come up with something original” (Ken Robinson) are not really helpful.  A more practical way to see failure as positive is to call it rehearsal.  When struggling with a new challenge it does not help to feel bad about the mistakes I make.  The purpose of my 1st attempt is to give me ideas about how to make my 2nd attempt awesome.  To be honest, I feel frustrated the 1st time I try something new and may even quit.  When I was able-bodied I was totally unaware of how often I used both hands or needed good balance so I am often unprepared for the challenges a stroke creates. Trying the task again the next day accomplishes two things.  My frustration has receded so I am calmer and the mistakes I made the 1st time give me ideas about what to do differently.

I still get frustrated when I try something new BUT I quickly hear myself say “it’s a rehearsal.” This calms me down and reminds me that rehearsal has the potential to propel me to success IF I change the way I think about what is happening to me.

Source: Home After a Stroke: It Isn’t Failure – It’s Rehearsal

, , ,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

